Government PG College Rajouri hosts quiz competition on India’s Freedom Struggle and Legacy


RAJOURI:  Government PG College Rajouri hosted an engaging Intra-College Quiz competition centered around the theme of “India’s struggle for freedom and its legacy.” The event was held under the supervision of Dr. Shamim Ahmed, the Principal of the College. The event was jointly organized by the Department of Political Science and Department of Economics in collaboration with NSS Unit of the College.

The competition witnessed enthusiastic participation of four groups, each named after iconic freedom fighters: Bhagat Singh, Ashfaq Ullah, Rani Laxmibhai, and M.K. Gandhi. A total of 12 students demonstrated their knowledge and passion in this intellectually stimulating contest. The quiz was thoughtfully structured into seven rounds, designed to foster awareness about the often overlooked heroes of India’s struggle for independence and to ignite a spirit of healthy competition and analytical thinking among the participants.

The M.K. Gandhi group, comprising Miss Shareen Anjum, Mr. Abrar Hussain, and Miss Neha Sharma, clinched the coveted first position. Their depth of understanding and quick thinking set them apart.

The Rani Laxmibai group, represented by Samreena Manzoor, Serish Anjum, and Pragati Gupta, secured a commendable second position. Their teamwork and knowledge were truly impressive.

The Ashfaq Ullah Khan group, featuring Sabha Naz, Tahira Shameem, and  Ibrar Ahmed, earned a well-deserved third position. Their dedication and grasp of historical nuances stood out.

The event commenced with a warm Welcome Note delivered by Dr. Israr Ahmed from the Department of Economics.

Prof. Khaleeq Ahmed, the Programme Officer of NSS, followed with an insightful Keynote Address.

Principal Prof. Shamim Ahmed presided over the occasion, emphasizing the importance of celebrating academic achievements. Prizes were awarded to the winning students, recognizing their outstanding performance in the quiz. Additionally, the department acknowledged the stellar accomplishments of students in the previous semester’s final examinations, further motivating them on their educational journey.

About 500 students attended the programme. The other dignitaries who graced the occasion with their  presence are Dr. Raiz Ahmed Mirza, Co-ordinator IQAC, Dr. Mushtaq HoD Persion, Dr Mohd  Latief Mir HoD Urdu, Prof. Ayaz Ahmad Choudhary, Prof. Naveen Kumar Sharma, HoD Environmental Science, Prof. Altaf Hussain, Prof. Ram Kashore, Dr.Simran Kour, Dr. Florence Chand, Dr.Zahoor Ahmed  Rathar, Dr. Mohd Arshad, Dr. Shakeel Ahmed and Dr. Ayaz Ahmad.

The event concluded on a high note, with gratitude to all participants, organizers, and supporters who contributed to the success of this intellectually invigorating quiz competition. The formal vote of thanks presented by Dr. Aftab Hussain.

Voting Poll
Should Centre conduct Assembly Elections in Jammu and Kashmir?