J&K: At 55.79 pc, Baramulla records highest voter turnout in last 35 years


Baramulla (Jammu and Kashmir): The Baramulla parliamentary constituency of Jammu and Kashmir recorded a voter turnout of 55.79 per cent in the districts of Baramulla, Kupwara, Bandipora and Budgam as of the latest data issued by the Election Commission of India on Monday.

As per the ECI, this is the highest voter turnout recorded in the constituency in the last 8 Lok Sabha elections in 35 years. The voter turnout in Baramulla was 5.48 per cent in 1989, 46.65 per cent in 1996, 41.94 per cent in 1998, 27.79 per cent in 1999, 35.65 per cent in 2004, 41.84 per cent in 2009, 39.14 per cent in 2014 and 34.6 per cent in 2019.

Earlier on May 13 in the fourth phase, the Srinagar constituency, covering districts of Srinagar, Ganderbal, Pulwama, Budgam and Shopian Districts partly, recorded 37.99 per cent voting which is also the highest turnout in several decades. This was the first general election in the valley after the abrogation of Article 370 and the enactment of the Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Act, 2019.

CEC Rajiv Kumar along with fellow Election Commissioners Gyanesh Kumar and Sukhbir Singh Sandhu while appreciating the efforts of both civil and security personnel in the smooth and peaceful conduct of elections and thanking enthusiastic participation by the voters of J&K said that a clear message has been given that people of Jammu and Kashmir are eager to exercise franchise and have their stakes in the democratic system of governance.
Polling took place in 2103 polling stations across the Baramulla Parliamentary constituency with live webcasting at the polling stations. Voting started at 7 am across the PC with long queues of enthusiastic voters waiting to cast their votes, the ECI said.

There are 22 candidates in the fray in the Baramulla PC in the ongoing general elections. Polling personnel including security personnel worked tirelessly to ensure that an atmosphere of calm, peace and festivities welcomed voters at the polling stations.

The Commission has enabled Kashmiri migrant voters residing at various relief camps in Delhi, Jammu, and Udhampur to also have the option of voting in person at designated special polling stations or using postal ballot. 21 Special Polling Stations were established at Jammu, 1 at Udhampur and 4 at Delhi.

Voting Poll
Should Centre conduct Assembly Elections in Jammu and Kashmir?